The Atheist Empire

because love takes place beyond good and evil….

Welcome!

Posted by theatheistempire on February 9, 2007

Welcome to WordPress.com.

Welcome to The Atheist Empire of Liverpool Blog!

My name is Martyn Blackburn and I have been living in Liverpool for over two years now. In the past my atheism has taken a back seat and I have been pursuing a career in the fitness industry with poor results. Right now my career goals have changed slightly and I`m on the lookout for any type of work. In the meantime I am devoting all my time to promoting atheism in Liverpool.
Liverpool does not have any kind of atheist group or society – none that I know of anyway. I have noticed over the past year a furore of Christian groups popping up like mushrooms and coming out on the streets in a bid to win converts. These groups inlcude missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints and Gospel rock-groups and some megaphone blasting evangelists. English Christianity is quite subtle and seductive [masked by alcoholic excess and pangs of conscience] and for that reason all the more ‘poisonous’ than that of American Christianity [American Christianity is probably more ‘dangerous’].

Before I ‘became’ an atheist I flirted much with Christianity whilst I was in my early teens but I settled for Buddhism and Kashmir Shaivism in my late teens and twenties. Meditation practise was getting me no where and Buddhism made me fickle. I was weak, exhausted, and a total doormat to everyone – no self confidence whatsoever! Then I went to the gym, got fit, gained muscle and gained a more healthier outlook on life. I read the works of Friedrich Nietzsche and his Will To Power which inspired me to keep on being strong and keep on facing life; reality head on and not escape into fantasy and myth. I read Bertrand Russel who is most definately an agnostic/atheist and I liked Russell`s ideas. And that`s it really.

Right now I`m looking to organise some kind of atheist group in Liverpool. I have penned a manifesto which I will give the link to on this very blog. All will become clear there.
Right now I`m looking for people who are interested in supporting me in this role. I dare say it is a huge task and it might be somewhat dangerous but I like the danger element; I like the fife and drum!

Our group should consist of atheists, agnostics, humanists, etc, ect. We don`t accept Christians obviously. We will not be trying to ‘convert’ people – our aim would be to unite and enlighten.

Leave a Reply

 
